192 CU Professors Recognized as 5280 Magazine’s Top Physicians for 2022

Denver area magazine 5280 recently published its list of best doctors for 2022. In this year’s list, faculty members from the CU School of Medicine continue to rank among the best. We are proud to congratulate the 192 CU College of Medicine faculty members honored with the title “Top Doctor.”

The list is compiled from a survey of Denver-area physicians that asked them “whom they would trust to treat themselves or a loved one” in a variety of specialty-based categories. This year, the list includes 343 doctors in total in 100 specialties.

Congratulations to the following professors from the CU School of Medicine who were recognized this year:

addiction medicine

Catherine Callister, MD

Kaylin Klie, MD

Dr Julie Taub

addiction psychiatry

Dr Christian Thurstone

Adolescent Medicine

Nicholas C. Kyriazi, MD

Amy E. Sass, MD

Dr. Eric J. Sigel

Adult congenital heart disease

Dr Joseph D Kay

Amber Khanna, MD

Advanced heart failure and transplant

Dr. Larry S. Allen

Amrut Ambardekar, MD

Allergy and Immunology

Dr. Flavia Cecilia Hoyte


Luis Verduzco, MD

brain injury medicine

Dr Michael Makley

Oscar Sánchez, MD

heart disease

Payal Kohli, MD

Dr Andrew Prouse

Dr. Gregory Schwartz, MD

Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Beau Carubia, MD

Dr. Kristie M. Ladegard

Child Abuse Pediatrics

Jennifer N. Kelloff, MD

Coral Steffey, MD

clinical cardiac electrophysiology

Francisco C. Ngo, MD

Wendy Tzou, MD, FACC, FHRS

Paul Varosy, MD

Jason West, M.D.

Clinical genetics and genomics

Dr Austin Larson

Matthew Taylor, MD

Colon and rectal surgery

Magdalena Brooke Sanchez, MD

Dr Jon Vogel

complex family planning

Rebecca Cohen, MD, MPH

Complex General Surgical Oncology

Dr. Eric M. Campion

Martin McCarter, MD

Complex Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology

Dr. Jeremy D. Prager

Dr Tammy Wang

congenital heart surgery

Dr James Jaggers

Dr Max Mitchell

Intensive Care Medicine

Anuj Mehta, MD


Dr. Cheryl Armstrong

Dr. Tina Suneja

Developmental and behavioral pediatrics

Sandra L. Friedman, MD, MPH/MSPH

Dr Ann Reynolds

diagnostic radiology

Victor Anaya-Baez, MD

emergency medicine

Manuel Montano, MD

Ming-Jay Jeffrey Wu, MD

Endocrinology-Diabetes and Metabolism

Jennifer A. Morrison, MD, PhD

Dr. Rocío Pereira

Dr Jane Reusch


Andrew White, M.D.

Dr. Alma Yum

Laura Friedlander, M.D.

Family Medicine

Grace Alfonso, MD

Mi Giang, MD

Dr. Darcy Selenke


Ashley Lane, MD

Barbara A. Piasecki, MD

geriatric medicine

Dr. Carrie Horney

Geriatric Psychiatry

Elizabeth L. Lowdermilk, MD

Gynecological Oncology

Kian Behbakht, MD, MBA


Dr Brandon McMahon

Hospice and palliative medicine

Dr. Kelly Ferraro

Dr Jeanie Youngwerth

infectious disease

Michelle Haas, M.D.

Shelley Kon, MD

Internal Medicine

Dr. Caitlin Dietsche

Ben Mendoza, MD

Cason Pierce, MD

Nicholas Scaletta, MD

Interventional Cardiology

Joseph Burke, MD

John Messenger, MD

Dr Stephen Waldo

Interventional and Diagnostic Radiology

Dr Stephen Dreyer

Peter Horner, MD

Maternal and Fetal Medicine

Kent Heyborne, MD

medical oncology

Dr. Laurie Carr

Dr Sandhya Sharma

Medical Toxicology

Dr Christopher Hoyte

Dr Sam Wang

Micrographic Dermatological Surgery

Dr Karen Sundby Johnson

Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine

Dr. Teresa Grover

Dr. Trish Hagan


Dr Alkesh Jani

Stuart Linas, MD

Dr Rajesh Yalavarthy

Neurocritical Care

Dr Alex Benson

Dr Robert Neumann

neurodevelopmental disabilities

Ellen R. Elias, MD

Sandra L. Friedman, MD, MPH, MSPH

Dr Jessica Sanders

Neurological Surgery

Dr Kevin Lillehei

Mohamed Riaz, MD


Dr Aaron Carlson

Dr Wesley Reynolds

Neurology (Special Degrees in Child Neurology)

Megan Barry, do

Julie A. Parsons, M.D.

Neuromuscular Medicine

Dr Thomas Ragole


Dr Mikell Yuhasz


Dr Samuel Gubbels

Nuclear medicine

Dr Stephen Humes

Dr David Naeger

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Kelsey W. Webster, MD

Occupational medicine

Dr. Lisa Maier

Cecile Rose, MD, MPH/MSPH


Cristos Ifantides, MD

Orthopedic Sports Medicine

Jarrod Rey, MD

Orthopedic surgery

Dr Joshua Parry

Dr Stephen Stacey


Dr Nathan Grohman

pain medicine

ben marshall


Dr. Mary O’Keefe

Pediatric Anesthesiology

Steven Bourland, DO

Pediatric Cardiology

Dr. Kathryn Chatfield

Dr Jeff Darst

Dunbar Ivy, MD

David J. Miller, MD

Marco Pinder, M.D.

Pediatric Critical Care Medicine

Cameron Gunville, DO

Dr. Eva Nozik

Dr William Tsai

Pediatric dermatology

Ana Bruckner, MD

Pediatric Emergency Medicine

Joe A. Grubenhoff, MD

Genius Roosevelt, MD, MPH/MSPH

Pediatric Endocrinology

Jennifer Barker, M.D.

Aristides K. Maniatis, MD

Phil Zeitler, MD, PhD

Pediatric Gastroenterology

Dr David Brumbaugh

Pooja Mehta, MD

Jason S. Soden, MD

Pediatric hematology and oncology

Transportation cost, MD

Dr Lia Gore

Dr Brian Greffe

Pediatric hospital medicine

Dr Lauren Anderson

Ann Boyer, MD, MPH/MSPH

Dr. Jenny Reese

pediatric infectious disease

Donna Curtis, MD, MPH/MSPH

Samuel Dominguez, MD, PhD

Dr. Sean O’Leary

Dr. John W. Ogle

Pediatric Nephrology

Dr Margret Bock

Pediatric Pathology

Jennifer Black, MD

Mark A. Lovell, M.D.

Pediatric Pulmonology

Robin Deterding, MD

Monica J. Federico, MD

pediatric radiology

Matthew Alfano, MD

Jaime R. Stewart, MD

Pediatric rehabilitation medicine

Dr Susan Apkon

Dr Pam Wilson

Pediatric Rheumatology

Dr. Clara Lin

Jenny Soup, MD

Pediatric Surgery

Dr Shannon Acker

Denis D. Bensard, MD

Dr David Partrick

Pediatric transplant hepatology

Amy G. Feldman, MD, MSCS

Shikha Sundaram, MD, MSCI

Dr Fritz Karrer

pediatric urology

Vijaya Vemulakonda, MD

Dr. Duncan T. Wilcox


Nicholas C. Kyriazi, MD

Jerusha Lev, MD

Dr Jay Markson

Dr Noah Makovsky

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Michael L. Blei, MD

Dr Haley Burke

Plastic surgery

Brooke French, MD

Dr. Jerry K. Popham

Dr Corrine Wong

Plastic surgery (inside the head and neck)

Dr. Kevin K. Motamedi


Elizabeth L. Lowdermilk, MD

Public Health and General Preventive Medicine

Yomi A. Obafemi, MD, MPH

Lung disease

Dr. Bridget Graney

radiation oncology

Dr. Ryan Lanning, MD

Reproductive endocrinology and infertility

Dr Richard Heppe

Laxmi Kondapalli, MD

Dr Nanette Santoro


Dr Joel Hirsh

Dr Jason Kolfenbach

sleep medicine

Dr Peter Riley

Dr Sheila Tsai

Spinal Cord Injury Medicine

Dr David Coons

Sports medicine

Dr Spencer Tomberg


Dr Robert McIntyre

Alexander Morton, MD

Hand Surgery

Cyrus Ipaktchi, MD

Surgical Critical Care

Dr Robert McIntyre

Thoracic and cardiac surgery

Joseph Cleveland, MD

Dr. Lanny L. Dunham Jr.

Dr John D Mitchell

Dr. Daniel VanDerPloeg

transplant hepatology

Dr Bahri Bilir

Whitney Jackson, M.D.


Rodrigo Donalisio da Silva, MD

Vascular Neurology

Dr Sharon Poisson

Setareh Salehi Omran, MD

Vascular surgery

Timothy H. Liao, MD

Dr. Ernest E. Moore

Jonathan-Hien Vu, MD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.